Honor Lectures and Memorial Awards

Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, Master FCCP/Master Teacher Honor Lecture

Evidence-Based Improvement of Pulmonary Medical Practice and Reducing the National Debt: Can Both Be Done?
Paul A. Kvale, MD, Master FCCP

Sunday, October 21
10:30 am – 11:45 am

This endowment, established in 2004, gives special recognition to Dr. Edward C. Rosenow, who has promoted the development and training of hundreds of chest physicians during his 3 decades at the Mayo Clinic. It acknowledges his role of mentoring pulmonary and critical care physicians into leadership roles within the College. During Dr. Rosenow’s distinguished service on behalf of the College, he has selflessly donated his time and expertise to foster the development of physicians-in-training and to improve patient care.

Presidential Citation Honor Lecture

World Trade Center-Related Respiratory Diseases: How Science Has Informed Clinical and Public Health Decision Making
David J. Prezant, MD, FCCP

Sunday, October 21
1:15 pm – 2:45 pm

This award, first conferred in 1970, whose recipient is selected by the current ACCP President, honors an outstanding faculty member speaking at CHEST. One recipient is chosen each year based upon his or her exceptional expertise in a given field.

Murray Kornfeld Memorial Founders Lecture

Mycobacterium avium Complex Lung Disease: Different Hosts, Different Diseases
David E. Griffith, MD, FCCP

Sunday, October 21
4:15 pm – 5:30 pm

In 1974, this lecture was established in memory of Murray Kornfeld, founder of the Federation of American Sanatoria, the precursor organization to the ACCP. He envisioned a society of professionals to promote knowledge of thoracic medicine and publish a journal devoted to diseases of the chest. This award is conferred to a leader in pulmonary and critical care medicine, particularly in the areas of infection and inflammation, who is developing innovative approaches and therapies expected to guide medicine for decades to come.

Margaret Pfrommer Memorial Lecture in Long-term Mechanical Ventilation

Advocacy for Patients Supported by Home Mechanical Ventilation: Impact on Readmissions and Quality of Life
Norma M. T. Braun, MD, FCCP

Monday, October 22
11:15 am – 12:30 pm

This award was established in 1999 by Dr. Eveline Faure and Dr. Allen I. Goldberg to honor their lifelong colleague and friend, Margaret Pfrommer, a polio survivor and patient advocate. It was established to ensure that individuals who use mechanical ventilation, and their families, can work more effectively in partnership with members of their health-care team.

Distinguished Scientist Honor Lecture in Cardiopulmonary Physiology

Image, Predict, Treat
Elizabeth R. Jacobs, MD, FCCP

Tuesday, October 23
11:15 am – 12:30 pm

This lecture was established in 1973 and has since been awarded to a well-respected and published original investigator in pulmonary clinical physiology.

Roger C. Bone Memorial Lecture in Critical Care

Innovations in ICU Design: High Tech and Healing
Neil A. Halpern, MD, FCCP

Tuesday, October 23
4:30 pm – 5:45 pm

This memorial lecture was established in 1997 to honor Roger C. Bone, MD, Master FCCP. Dr. Bone made unprecedented advances in critical care, particularly in sepsis and sepsis research; empowered physicians to communicate with their patients and their families about end-oflife issues; and made significant society achievements.

Pasquale Ciaglia Memorial Lecture in Interventional Medicine

Interventional Medicine
Gerard A. Silvestri, MD, FCCP

Wednesday, October 24
11:15 am – 12:30 pm

This lecture is awarded to an ACCP member well-known for his or her work in interventional medicine. Topic areas considered include clinical state-of-the-art innovations, economic impact, invention, interventional critical care, research opportunities, and a host of other interesting facets of interventional medicine. This memorial lecture is named in honor of Pasquale Ciaglia, MD, FCCP, the thoracic surgeon who made percutaneous tracheotomy a standard of clinical practice, changing the way long-term ventilation management is performed.
Supported by an educational grant from Cook, Inc. and The CHEST Foundation.

College Medalist Award

Kalpalatha K. Guntupalli, MD, FCCP

The College Medalist Award is a longstanding award for meritorious service in furthering progress in the field of diseases of the chest. It honors a clinician, author, teacher, or investigator.

Distinguished Service Award

Paul H. Mayo, MD, FCCP

First named the Distinguished Fellow Award, this award was initially conferred in 1976 and given to Alfred Soffer, MD, Master FCCP. The award was recently combined with the Distinguished Service Award and renamed as such. This award is not an annual one but is conferred as appropriate to an ACCP Fellow (or group) who has held a leadership position in the ACCP and has led significant society achievements and/or has donated time, leadership, and service to the ACCP.